Skip to main content

Conservation organizations Win Big at Jackson Hole One Fly

Conservation organizations Win Big at Jackson Hole One Fly
Joe Kriz photo 

The 2018 Jackson Hole One Fly not only raises funds for conservation projects and organizations in the greater Jackson Hole region, but this year’s event was a literally a “win-win” for all. A team of conservation organization leaders took top honors sweeping both the First Place Amateur Team Title and the Overall Team Title. Not bad for a fun weekend fishing the Snake and making a difference.

“It was a great event as always and kind of fitting as our organizations and our teams give back so much to our regional projects and nationwide initiatives—that we the leaders of these organizations enjoy this win on the water at One Fly,” said Team FUDR/Avengers-- made up of Mike Sutton, from the California Fish and Game Commission, Krystyna Wolniakowski, executive director of the Columbia River Gorge Commission, Guido Rahr, president and CEO of the Wild Salmon Center, Dan Plummer and Chris Wood, CEO/President of Trout Unlimited.

For their efforts they received two full prize packages which included Thomas & Thomas Avantt rods, Hatch Finatic 4-Plus Reels, Cortland Modern Trout Line, Smith Optics Redmond CP+ Sunglasses, and a course, a John Mortensen plaque to commemorate the event.

“Originally the One Fly was started to promote fly fishing and friendships in the community, with various guides, outfitters and fishermen,” said Joe De Briyn, Chairman, Jackson Hole One Fly Foundation. “Since then we’ve expanded it to include conservation and the environment. We raise money through our event—a significant amount of money—to give back to the Snake River watershed and the promotion of trout.

“We enjoy chasing and catching trout,” added De Briyn. “We’ve had a long and very productive history of raising money and we are able to use some of the money and match it with other fishing organizations so that we may leverage that money to promote fly fishing and the trout environment.

“I think the anglers would like to do well in this event and we recognize them for their efforts, but this event is about friendship and fishing and thanks to industry sponsors—they are very gracious with their sponsorships, and we are very appreciative of their involvement” said De Briyn. “To me, the One Fly—I started fishing it many years ago and now I’m the chairman, but what it means—it’s a fun gathering, meeting new friends, and the opportunity to raise money and support the fisheries. I think the fishing in the Snake is better than ever and I’d like to think we had something to do with at.”

With the major emphasis of the event on raising money for a good cause, friendships and camaraderie, it was no surprise when guide Boots Allen jumped into action on the Idaho side when Bill Jeter of Team Thomas & Thomas had a medical emergency. Boots made the executive decision to call for lines up and rowed towards the nearest take out to get his angler in an ambulance and quickly to the hospital. Bill felt good enough that he ended up making the awards ceremony on Sunday evening after the scare on Saturday.

For their efforts, Team Thomas & Thomas ended up in Last Place (with an asterisk due to limited fishing time/emergency). Capt. Riley Jones graciously gave thanks to Boots and accepted a silver “Stanley Cup-Like” trophy to commemorate their experience.

Back at the awards ceremony, there were a few memorial awards also handed out to recognize great individuals. The 2018 Carlsberg-Crosby Award went to Eric Dobkin, the Carmichael-Cohen Award went to Josh Cowen.

As for fishing accolades. The Vern Bressler Top Gun Award was won by Brian Byerly. As for knowledge on the water, the Top Wyoming Guide was Mike Janssen and on the Idaho side-- Mike Bean.

The other big winner for the night was Jackson Hole Fly Fishing School’s Spencer Morton who somehow, managed to win TWO drawings-- winning two boats. He won the Hyde Driftboat drawing and an earlier drawing for another boat as well.

Other notable awards included second place overall for team Colorado Casters made up of Matt Plooster, Bob Byerly, Jon Honore and Brian Byerly. Third place overall went to LipRippers made up of Michael Coles, Pierre Sarthou, Fletcher White and Trey Scharp.


The First-place amateur was from Team The Boys-- Bud Chatham. John Wilson from Cortland Line earned the Top Rookie Amateur Award as well. For those wondering what “One Fly” was hot—the winning team used a collection of streamer patterns prepared by team member Guido Rahr.

GET THE NEWSLETTER Join the List and Never Miss a Thing.

Recommended Articles

Recent Videos

Fly Fisherman Magazine Covers Print and Tablet Versions

GET THE MAGAZINE Subscribe & Save

Digital Now Included!


Give a Gift   |   Subscriber Services


Buy Digital Single Issues

Magazine App Logo

Don't miss an issue.
Buy single digital issue for your phone or tablet.

Buy Single Digital Issue on the Fly Fisherman App

Other Magazines

See All Other Magazines

Special Interest Magazines

See All Special Interest Magazines

GET THE NEWSLETTER Join the List and Never Miss a Thing.

Get the top Fly Fisherman stories delivered right to your inbox.

Phone Icon

Get Digital Access.

All Fly Fisherman subscribers now have digital access to their magazine content. This means you have the option to read your magazine on most popular phones and tablets.

To get started, click the link below to visit and learn how to access your digital magazine.

Get Digital Access

Not a Subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Enjoying What You're Reading?

Get a Full Year
of Guns & Ammo
& Digital Access.

Offer only for new subscribers.

Subscribe Now