Tom Rosenbauer Receives Izaak Walton Award

Tom Rosenbauer Receives Izaak Walton Award

Jim Lepage (left) and Paul Ferson (center) of The Orvis Company with Izaak Walton Award winner Tom Rosenbauer at the Angler’s Club of New York March 12, 2019.

Tom Rosenbauer, host of the Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Podcast, on March 12, 2019 was the recipient of the most prestigious award given by the American Museum of Fly Fishing (AMFF).

Rosenbauer received the 2019 Izaak Walton Award "for his extraordinary knowledge, accomplishments, and innovations in the sport of fly fishing and his dedication to sharing his skills through his podcast, as a writer, and teacher on the water."

He received the award at the The Anglers’ Club of New York, and the $250 tickets benefitted AMFF, which is located in Manchester Vermont. Previous winners include Rachel Finn (2018), Jim Klug (2017), James Prosek (2016), Tom Davidson (2015), and Ed Jaworowski (2014).

Rosenbauer is currently Marketing Director for Orvis Rod and Tackle but in the past 30 years has been a fly-fishing school instructor, copywriter, public relations director, merchandise manager, catalog director, and was editor of The Orvis News. He has 10 books currently in print including The Orvis Fly-Tying Guide, which won a 2001 National Outdoor Book Award.

Get Your Fish On.

Plan your next fishing and boating adventure here.

Popular Videos

Anti-Invasive Species Boots

Editor Ross Purnell joins K.C. Walsh of Simms to talk about a new rubber compound material that was specially designed to outperform and replace the use of felt boots in effort to combat the spread of invasive species.

Beadhead Hare's-ear Nymph

Learn to tie one of the word's most versatile and productive fly patterns.

Basic Fly Casting

When learning to fly fish, casting is the first thing to master. Lean what to do, and not do, to successfully make a short fly cast.

See more Popular Videos

More Industry


Update on Travel to Kamchatka

Ross Purnell - December 05, 2018

Yakutia Airlines has recently announced it will not operate its Anchorage-to-Petropavlovsk...


Canadian Stripers Slam Salmon

Jonathan Wright - April 13, 2018

Huge numbers of Striped Bass staging off the coast of New Brunswick could potentially spell an...


Train Spills Fuel Into the Delaware River

Rob Jagodzinski - August 13, 2018

A train derailment spilled some 4,000 gallons of diesel into the West Branch of the Delaware...

See More Industry

GET THE MAGAZINE Subscribe & Save

Temporary Price Reduction.


Give a Gift   |   Subscriber Services


GET THE NEWSLETTER Join the List and Never Miss a Thing.